Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-2800
Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Photo
« Back to Concerts

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Thursday, October 10, 2019, 8:00 PM WARM UP: Cellist David Finckel and Pianist Wu Han, talk with Marna Seltzer about the evening's program at 7PM, free to ticketholders Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall



Wu Han and David Finckel, Artistic Directors


HARRY T. BURLEIGH Southland Sketches
DVOŘÁK Quintet for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello in E-flat Major, Op. 97
BERNSTEIN Clarinet Sonata
COPLAND Appalachian Spring Suite for Ensemble


Gloria Chien, Piano  I  Chad Hoopes, Kristin Lee, Arnaud Sussmann, Angelo Xiang Yu, Violin  I  Matthew Lipman, Paul Neubauer, Viola  I  Nicholas Canellakis, David Finckel, Cello  I Anthony Manzo, Bass  I  Ransom Wilson, Flute  I  David Shifrin, Clarinet  I  Marc Goldberg, Bassoon

Read more about the program »

Ticket Info

This concert has happened. Tickets are no longer available.

About the Artist

We begin 126 years ago and 910 miles away in the small town of Spillville, Iowa. Just as Princeton University Concerts is born, Czech composer Antonín Dvořák composes his String Quintet, Op. 97 in American farm-country. Drawing on folk tunes and spirituals—many of which he learned from his assistant, African-American composer Harry T. Burleigh—Dvořák set the stage for a new tradition of “American music.”

Hear this lineage evolve in a program also featuring Leonard Bernstein’s very first published work, and culminating in one of the most beloved American masterpieces: Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring, in its original instrumentation. As a pupil of Dvořák’s student, Copland wrote this music for Martha Graham’s ballet celebrating American pioneers.

We invite you to come celebrate the frontier of our rich cultural history as together we launch our 126th season!

Artist Website

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center »

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center plays the first movement of Dvořák's "American" Quintet

More videos at discover and listen »

“O Appalachian Spring! I gained the ledge; Steep, inaccessible smile that eastward bends And northward reaches in that violet wedge Of Adirondacks!”

- Hart Crane, "The Dance"