Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-2800
Takács String Quartet (Virtual Watch Party) Photo
« Back to Concerts

Takács String Quartet (Virtual Watch Party)

Thursday, October 15, 2020, 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM Available On Demand until midnight on Sunday, October 18 - click links below to watch Virtual Watch Party: Stream from the comfort of your own home




The free streamed concert premiered on Thursday, October 15 at 8:00 pm and will remain available on demand through 11:59PM on Sunday, October 18. If you have any trouble accessing either event, please refer to our Watch Party FAQ page for guidance on how to stream this performance.

MOZART Allegro moderato from String Quartet No. 15 in D Minor, K. 421
SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Prelude and Humoresque from 5 Fantasiestücke, Op. 5
BARTÓK Introduzione and Allegro vivace from String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7
DEBUSSY Andantino and Très modéré from String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 10

Beloved Emeritus Professor Scott Burnham translates his popular Pre-Concert Talk to the virtual world for our digital season opening. Listen to his comments here.

Read more about the program »

About the Artist

That the Takács String Quartet opens our virtual 2020-2021 season with their 21st appearance on our series is certainly a testament to the fact that not even a global pandemic can get in the way of our love for this formidable group. Even after 21 appearances, the novelty never ceases. With a new violist in tow—Emmy Award winner, two-time Grammy nominee, and Avery Fisher Career Grant recipient Richard O’Neill—the quartet will launch our inaugural Watch Party with a program of works by Mozart, Bartók, Debussy, and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor. For those who RSVP, you will receive special content about the evening’s program, including the fascinating history of Coleridge-Taylor’s background as a 20th-century English composer and activist of European and African descent. Everyone who joins the Watch Party will be invited to talk directly to members of the Takács Quartet in a post-stream Q&A.


During these challenging times, we intend to continue engagement with great music-making; support the outstanding artists who appear with us; and ensure that the Princeton University Concerts will emerge from the COVID-19 outbreak in a secure position—able to gather with all of you when it is again safe to do so. Thank you for contributing as generously as you can when watching these events. Every little bit helps.

It will certainly be a season opening like no other in Princeton University Concerts’ 127-year history—and we hope that this free offering will be a welcome and celebratory way for us to reunite through music once again.

We look forward to “seeing” you there.

Artist Website

Takács String Quartet »

Takács String Quartet (Virtual Watch Party) Live from Colorado

More videos at discover and listen »

“This is chamber music of overwhelming intensity...simply the best I've heard in concert.”

- Guardian